Dark Mode

Joe Biden speaks about Xi Jinping’s Absence in the G20 Summit

The US President, Joe Biden stated that he is looking forward to his trip to India for the G20  summit, which will take place from 9 to 10 September in the National Capital. He will also get involved in a one-to-one meeting with PM Modi on September 8. The US President’s tour to India will commence on September 7. Last week the White House declared that the US President will 'reassert US allegiance to the G20' and will also talk about a spectrum of matters, including the social consequences of the Russia-Ukraine war.  While talking to the reporters, Biden said, “I am disgruntled, but I am going to get to meet him (Xi Jinping),” indicating the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum meeting that is to take place later this year in San Francisco. 


Authorized sources approved last week that Xi will miss the conference in New Delhi. Indian authorities don’t consider that the absence of any leader from a summit like the G20 is a reflection on the host. Chinese Authorities confirmed that Xi Jinping will skip the event instead the Chinese PM Li Qiang will attend the summit. Along with China, Russia’s President, Vladimir Putin will also be skipping the summit in Delhi. However,  French President Emmanuel Macron, US President Biden, UK Prime Minister Rishi Sunak, Japanese Prime Minister Fumio Kishida,  Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, and Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva will all be a part of the event.


At the closing of the summit,  Brazilian President Lula will receive the baton of the G20 Presidency from PM Modi, following which Brazil will formally accept the G20 Presidency from December 1. The G20 member countries include around 85 per cent of the world’s GDP, over 75 per cent of international trade, and about two-thirds of the global population. The group includes  Australia, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Argentina, Russia, Saudi Arabia, China, South Africa, Turkey, the UK, the US, and the European Union (EU).

Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From