Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials

Foreign Affairs

Open and truly inclusive government in Kabul: SCO

Counter-terrorism experts from India, Pakistan, China, Russia, Kyrgyz Republic, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan attended the meeting of SCO- Regional Anti Terrorist Structure hosted by India. India is the current chairman of the Council of Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure for the next year.

The meeting took place in New Delhi to boost cooperation in combating various regional security challenges. The officials of the meeting are closelipped with the press. In India, The National Security Council Secretariat, under NSA Ajit Doval organized the meeting. The meeting also included officials of the Ministry of External Affairs and Home Affairs. 

Afghanistan has observer status in the grouping and the country’s Ambassador expected the grouping to raise and propose solutions to all important issues related to the security situation in Afghanistan.

India in November hosted a special regional meeting of NSAs on emerging threats from Afghanistan after the Taliban takeover in Kabul. The meeting included at least six countries that were also the part of Organisation for Islamic Cooperation(OIC). Recently OIC criticized India’s move to proceed with the delimitation exercise of electoral Constituencies in the Jammu and Kashmir. 

The MEA spokesperson said “ We are dismayed that the OIC Secretariat has once again made unwarranted comments on the internal affairs of India. In the meeting, it has been decided that member countries will send their security force personnel for a joint anti-terror exercise which is expected to be held at the NSG facility in Manesar.

Observers are waiting for the meeting of SCO in 2023 when India will host the SCO summit and both China and Pakistan will be participating despite the prevailing tensions.

The grouping SCO currently includes 8 member countries Russia, China, India, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Apart from this 4 countries are in observer status Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia. The grouping has also a dialogue partner which includes Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and Turkey.


By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply