Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Latest Tweets

Find Us on Facebook

Stay Connected


Delhi MCD election 2017 : At a Glance

Although the civic poll in Delhi were held for the local municipal body, interest generated at national level.

The polling for three Municipal Corporations of Delhi has come to an end with low voter turnout. According to the State Election Commission, 54 % voters have voted in MCD election held today. The polling was held for 270 wards spread over North Delhi Municipal Corporation, South Delhi Municipal Corporation and East Delhi Municipal Corporation.

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi was divided in 2012 into North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC). There are 272 wards in the three municipal corporations. NDMC and SMDC have 104 seats each, while the EDMC has 64. All three municipal body are currently ruled by the BJP.

Over 2500 candidates are in the fray. For conducting MCD election Delhi Election Commission has set up over 13 thousand polling booths.

The polling for Maujpur in East Delhi and Sarai Pipal in North Delhi wards will now be held next month.Polling in Maujpur will be held on 14th of next month while in Sarai Pipal it will take place on 21st May.

Tweet War

Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal tweeted “Reports from all over Delhi of EVM malfunction, people wid voter slips not allowed to vote. What is SEC doing?”

In response of Kejriwal tweet BJP leader Vijay Goel tweeted “Oh no not again! Jao jao jaldi jao doctor ko bulao, nabs dikhao #Kejriwal ka haal batao his #EVM fever seems to have started again #MCDpolls “

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply