Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials


The center removes AFSPA from parts of Nagaland, Manipur, and Assam


According to the reports of the Ministry of Home Affairs, from April 1, AFSPA to be reduced entirely from 15 police stations in six districts of Manipur, 15 police stations in seven zones of Nagaland, and 23 districts completely. 

The historical decision is taken by the Central government on Friday to remove the ambit of the Armed forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) in three districts of Arunachal Pradesh. This information was put forward by the Union Home Minister. He stated that Tirap, Changland, and Longding districts and areas of Namsai and Mahadev police stations bordering Assam are announced as per the allocated areas Under AFSPA from April to September. The Home minister tweeted that “Removing in areas Under AFSPA is a result of the improved security measures and fast-trailed developments due to the constant efforts and several agreements to end insurgency and bring lasting peace in the North-Eastern states by our Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Government.”

The home minister Amit Shah thanked Prime Minister Narendra  Modi for his “resolute commitment” to bringing a new age of peace to the northeast. “North-Eastern Zones, which has been abandoned for decades, is now observing a new age of peace, affluence, and extraordinary development,” he added.

This decision came three months after the central government had constituted a prominent committee to examine the chances of lifting AFSPA in Nagaland- after the killing of 14 civilians during the army operations in December 2021

What is AFSPA? The AFSPA is Armed Force Special Powers Act that has been in power for many decades in the Northeast states. This act authorizes security forces to conduct operations and arrest anyone without permission or a warrant. 

 The very first move was taken in 2004 when Jeevan Reddy’s committee built by the then UPA government had approved its abrogation. After this, a cabinet was formed to inspect the matter. But the NDA government declined Reddy’s Committee’s recommendations and broke down the Cabinet sub-committee.

The Chief Minister of Assam and Meghalaya signed an agreement on Tuesday in the presence of Home Minister Amit Shah to solve out of 12 zones of dispute along their border, ensuring in about 70 percent of the border between the two states is dispute-free.

Continue Reading on The India Saga.

Leave a Reply