Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials

Politics & Governance

2022 Assembly Election Results: Top 7 High-profile candidates who got defeated

2022 Assembly Election Results

The counting of votes for the recently concluded assembly elections is underway and the 2022 Assembly Election Results have surprised many poll pundits and pollsters. The counting of votes from the EVMs are still ongoing in several counting centers spread across the 5 states (Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur, and Goa) but the results that are slowly emerging out is not a happy moment for a lot of big players that were in the fray. From Punjab to Uttarakhand, from Uttar Pradesh to Goa, a lot of high-profile politicians could not manage to save their seats.

Here’s a look at some of the big players across the party line that tasted a defeat in this 2022 Assembly Elections. 

1. Pushkar Singh Dhami (BJP) (Uttarakhand)

The incumbent Chief Minister of Uttarakhand Pushkar Singh Dhami, as per the media reports, has lost the election of the Khatima constituency. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has changed two CMs in the state in 6 months after which Dhami was made the CM. Now that Pushkar Dhami has been defeated but his party (BJP) is winning, the question arises- “Will BJP change the face of CM again in Uttarakhand.

2. Charanjit Singh Channi (Congress) (Punjab)

In another surprising result, the incumbent Chief Minister of Punjab Charanjit Singh Channi has been defeated. What’s worse is that Channi contested from 2 Assembly seats (Chamkaur Sahib and Bhadaur) and has lost from both the seat. He was nominated as the Chief Ministerial candidate for the grand old Congress party by none other than Rahul Gandhi. 

3. Navjot Singh Sidhu (Congress) (Punjab)

Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee (PPCC) chief Navjot Singh Sidhu, who ousted the Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh from the post of CM as well as from the Congress party, has also been defeated from the seat of Amritsar East. He is also speculated to be the reason behind Congress’s bad performance in the Punjab Assembly Elections.

4. Prakash Singh Badal (SAD) (Punjab)

The former Chief Minister of Punjab and the veteran SAD leader Prakash Singh Badal is also one of the big names in this election who got defeated. He lost to Aam Aadmi Party candidate Gurmeet Singh Khudian in the Vidhan sabha seat of Lambi. Some poll pundits also see this as the end of the political career of the 94-year-old politician.

5. Sukhbir Singh Badal (SAD) (Punjab)

The former deputy Chief Minister of Punjab and incumbent MP from Ferozepur Sukhbir Singh Badal lost the Jalalabad seat after winning it three consecutive times. He lost it to Agdeep Kamboj of the Aam Aadmi Party by a margin of around 29,000 votes. 

6. Swami Prasad Maurya (Samajwadi Party) (Uttar Pradesh)

The senior OBC leader who, just before the commencement of the assembly polls, jump shipped to the Samajwadi Party from Bharatiya Janata Party, has also lost in the seat of Fazilnagar that falls under the Kushinagar district. He got defeated by Surendra Kumar Kushwaha of the BJP by an approx margin of 25,000 votes.

7. Harish Singh Rawat (Congress) (Uttarakhand)

The five time MP and the former Chief Minister of Uttarakhand Harish Singh Rawat loses his deposit in Lalkuan. The veteran Congress leader, while adddresing the media, said that there must be a shortage in our efforts and we will play our role as an opposition with outmost sincerity. 

Now that 2022 Assembly Election Results are getting out, it is clear that people go for issue, not the face.

Tough Luck!

Continue Reading on The India Saga.

Leave a Reply