Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials


Highlighting the importance of colors symbolic to each day of Navratri


The Navratri celebrations are filled with vibrant colours, which can be seen in the decorations, dresses, and designs all around you. Have you ever considered the significance of the Navratri colours? Yes, each colour that catches the eye has a pattern and a meaning.

Yellow, green, grey, orange, white, red, royal blue, pink, and purple are the nine colours of Navratri 2021. Each of the nine days of Navratri is dedicated to one of Goddess Durga’s nine avatars – the Goddess of Shakti or power. Each of the nine colours of Navratri represents a different aspect of the Devi.

The first day of Navratri commemorates Devi’s first incarnation as Shailaputri, the mountain daughter. She is Mother Nature’s absolute form and represents strength. Yellow is the colour of sunshine, happiness, and good cheer. It’s a great way to kick off the nine-day celebration. The second day of Navratri honours Goddess Durga’s second incarnation, Brahmacharani, the female seeker of spiritual knowledge. In this form, Goddess Durga or Parvati travels to the lush mountains to perform penance. Lord Shiva, her potential consort, is located here. She has joined him in his asceticism. As a result, the colour green represents growth, nature, and energy.

Chandraghanta is Devi’s third incarnation. She has a grey half-moon tattooed on her brow. The grey also represents her mood, as she is always ready to fight to destroy her devotees’ enemies. Kushmanda is Goddess Durga’s fourth incarnation. With her bewitching smile, this Devi’s luminosity and brightness light up the sun. She has the power to live in the Sun. As a result, the colour orange represents her happiness and energy.

Skandamata, the mother of Skanda or Kartikeya, the war god, is Devi’s fifth incarnation. The Devi with her baby in her lap represents the purity of a mother’s love. When devotees worship her, it also represents peace, purity, and prayer in their hearts. As a result, the colour is white. Katyayani is Devi’s sixth incarnation. She is a fierce form of Goddess Durga who is said to have arisen from the Gods’ wrath. As a result, she is associated with the colour red. Red also represents vigour and action.

Kaalratri is Devi’s seventh incarnation. She is also known as Kali, a destructive form of the Goddess. The colour blue represents her powerful energy. Mahagauri is Devi’s eighth incarnation. She is the giver of all wishes. Pink represents hope and a new way of looking at things. Siddhidatri is Devi’s ninth incarnation. She imparts knowledge and assists you in achieving your goals. As a result, the colour purple is associated with ambition and power.

Everything about Durga Puja including Devi’s various names and forms is intriguing and fascinating. So, when you attend your celebrations this year, keep these colour codes in mind and wear a different outfit with the appropriate accessories every day. You can wear the appropriate expression with the look if you understand the significance of the Navratri colours.

Continue Reading on The India Saga

Leave a Reply