Dark Mode

India: The first Champions of Women’s U19 T20 World Cup

The inaugural Under 19 World Cup has been won by the Women’s India Cricket Team. They won the World Cup by defeating England by seven wickets and became the champions. India's bowlers delivered a brutal performance, more than justifying the decision to put England into bat after winning the toss. The England top order was reduced to 22/4 after six overs by opening bowlers Titas Sadhu and Archana Devi, with important batter Grace Scrivens among those who fell. Sadhu bowled for four complete overs, permitting just six runs and taking two wickets. Devi cost a little bit extra, but her 2/17 included the crucial dismissals of Scrivens and Niamh Holland.  


India crossed the finish line thanks to Soumya Tiwari and Gongadi Trisha for their irreplaceable partnership. Soon after, Shweta Sehrawat followed her captain into the lead. Gongadi Trisha was the final Indian player to lose the wicket just before the victory. After reducing the English team to only 68 runs in 17.1 overs, India easily chased down the total to make history.


Watch our full report about ICC Women's U19 T20 World Cup by clicking here.


Despite Ryana MacDonald-resilience, Gay's England was unable to complete their allotted number of overs because wickets kept falling. With 17 balls remaining, the final wicket fell, giving India a winnable target of just 69. Lightning did not strike again, despite the incredible escape that England had pulled off against Australia in the semifinal. Early on, Shafali Verma's bold 15 off 11 balls chopped into the target, but the loss of both openers briefly gave India pause. Before Scrivens had Shweta Sehrawat removed, Hannah Baker had Verma captured. However, Soumya Tiwari and Gongadi Trisha partnered well jointly to clinch the battle. 


When Trisha was cleaned up by Alexa Stonehouse, the duo advanced within one final hit of the target. However, India didn't have to wait long for the decisive blow. Soumya Tiwari scored an undefeated 24* from 37 balls, which was just what her team needed on such a big platform. Shafali Verma, SM Tiwari, G Trisha, RM Ghosh, HN Basu, TR Sadhu, MS Kashyap, Archana, P Chopra, and SM Yadav are some of the other names from the team. Witnessing such an immense game, India won the inaugural ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup by outplaying England effortlessly in the championship game. And there were enormous celebrations all around India after the win of the inaugural ICC U19 Women's T20 World Cup.  


Continue Reading on The India Saga.




Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From




Sign up to receive email updates on news from our speakers, interviews and events.