Dark Mode

Delhi is the 1st Union Territory to Announce Covid-19 Vaccination Schedule

New Delhi: The country’s capital has announced the first phase of Covid-19 vaccination drive starting from January 16, 2021. In the first stage of the vaccination drive, priority will be given to frontline workers including the healthcare workers. 

The Centre has announced January 16 as the day for the rollout of the long-awaited vaccine. The vaccine got the green signal from drug regulators last Sunday. After the launch date announcement, Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted on his official handle, "On 16th January, India takes a landmark step forward in fighting COVID-19. Starting that day, India's nationwide vaccination drive begins. Priority will be given to our brave doctors, healthcare workers, frontline workers including safai karamcharis."

The massive vaccination drive will be managed with the help of CoWIN (Covid Vaccine Intelligence Network) app, which is yet to be launched. CoWIN will track the individual vaccine beneficiaries, more than 79 lakh of whom have been registered on the platform. It will also provide real-time information on vaccine stocks and storage temperatures.

Delhi Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal on Monday said, “Healthcare workers will be vaccinated in the first phase only in hospitals”. In addition, Delhi Health Minister Satyendra Jain has announced, “The coronavirus vaccine will be administered at 89 sites in the capital out of which  36 are government hospitals and 53 are private hospitals.”

During the first two rounds, about three lakh healthcare workers and six lakh frontline workers including the police and civil defense personnel will be vaccinated. Post this phase, approximately 42 lakh people above the 50-year age group and those below with comorbidities like diabetes, heart ailments, and other chronic conditions will be administered the vaccine dosage.

The Centre has already held three dry runs – two of them across the country -- to test the vaccine delivery system across 4,895 sites in 33 states and union territories. The third dry-run was last on 8 January 2021.

Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From