Dark Mode

Karnataka CM oath ceremony: Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar depart for Delhi to discuss the composition of Cabinet

Karnataka CM oath ceremony

Chief Minister-designate Siddaramaiah and Deputy CM D K Shivakumar will take the oath in Bengaluru tomorrow, breaking a four-day deadlock over the formation of the government in Karnataka. Leaders of numerous opposition parties are anticipated to attend.


Shortly after he was formally chosen the leader of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) at a conference of the newly elected party MLAs, both Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar met with Karnataka Governor Thawar Chand Gehlot to stake claim to form the government. Around 20 ministers will be sworn in during the event, according to sources within the Congress. The number of supporters from both the Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar camps who will be offered Cabinet positions is the subject of ongoing negotiations.


Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah leave for Delhi to discuss Cabinet formation; oath ceremony tomorrow


Randeep Singh Surjewala, the AICC's Karnataka secretary-in-charge, acknowledged that both leaders were pleased in an interview but remained evasive when asked if Siddaramaiah would serve as chief minister for the full five years. The only way to share power, he claimed, was to be the people of Karnataka's servants. 


MK Stalin, the chief minister of Tamil Nadu, will be at Siddaramaiah's inauguration


According to news agency PTI, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M K Stalin is expected to travel to Bengaluru this evening to witness the oath of Karnataka CM-designate Siddaramaiah and his deputy DK Shivakumar.


Several CMs, opposition leaders to attend Siddaramaiah’s swearing in on May 20


Leaders of several like-minded opposition parties are likely to attend the swearing in ceremony of Karnataka chief minister-designate Siddaramaiah and deputy chief minister D K Shivakumar on Saturday in Bengaluru. Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge has extended the invitation to several chief ministers and party leaders and personally invited them to the event.


Kharge has also invited Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M K Stalin, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, former Maharashtra chief minister Uddhav Thackeray, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav. Invitations have also been sent to National Conference Chief Farooq Abdullah


Siddararamaiah and Shivakumar depart for Delhi to talk on the formation of the Cabinet and the distribution of portfolios


According to unnamed sources, Siddaramaiah, the chief minister-designate for Karnataka, and D. K. Shivakumar, his deputy, travelled for New Delhi today to consult with the party's high command about the ministers to be sworn in to the new Karnataka cabinet and the distribution of portfolios. 


Before departing for the national capital, Shivakumar stated, "Siddaramaiah, Randeep Singh Surjewala (AICC General Secretary), and I will be going to Delhi, where we will meet Mallikarjun Kharge (AICC President) to discuss and decide the first stage of cabinet expansion."

Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From