Dark Mode

Karnataka Elections 2023:- Election Commission of India announces dates for Polls in the state

Rajiv Kumar

On Wednesday, the Election Commission of India (ECI), announced the Polling dates for the southern state of Karnataka. Rajiv Kumar, the Chief Election Commissioner of India, addressing a press conference, declared that the Elections for the high stake battle in Karnataka will take place on 10th May, 2023 and the Counting of Votes will take place on 13th May 2023. He further declared that Gazette Notification will be issued on 13th April, 2023 and that the last date of filing the nomination would be 20th April, 2023. Date of Scrutiny would be 21st April, 2023,  and the last date of withdrawal would be 24th April, 2023. The high stake electoral battle for Karnataka would be taking place in a single phase.


Addressing a Presser at around 11:30 am, the Chief Election Commissioner of India, Rajiv Kumar, stated that the 5 year term of the current Karnataka Legislative Assembly will expire on 24th May, 2023. He further added that a whopping 5.21 crore people are eligible to exercise their Right to Vote that includes 2.62 crore Male Voters and 2.59 crore Female Voters. Rajiv Kumar also added that the Model Code of Conduct comes into immediate effect from today. 


The Bommai-led BJP government in the state is facing a tough challenge from the grand old Congress Party. The high stake battle for Karnataka Legislative Assembly is taking new turns everyday with the recent example of BJP government scrapping the 4% Muslim Reservation and increasing it for Vokkaliga and Lingayat by 2% each. Congress led by KPCC president DK Shivakumar has been attacking the BJP government for this move alongside targeting the Bommai Government for corruption charges.


The BJP is on a sticky pitch with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah taking the command in their hand. Karnataka is the only southern state that the Saffron party has their government in and at no cost, they would want to let go of Karnataka.


Continue Reading on The India Saga.

Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From