Dark Mode

Navratri 2023:- Celebrate the Festival of Goddess Durga Maa with Fun, Cultural Events & Activities

Navratri 2023

India is a land of Festivals and each of these is celebrated with immense joy and enthusiasm. Navratri is one of the most sacred Festivals that is widely celebrated across the length and breadth of India. The Festival is a celebration of the victory of good over evil. Navratri is an annual festival of the Hindus that is observed in the honour of Durga Maa or Goddess Durga. 


Date, Time, Why is it celebrated?, How it is celebrated?, and everything you should know about the Festival of Navratri.


Navratri 2023 

Navratri, a joyous and auspicious Hindu festival, is celebrated with great fervor and devotion in various parts of India. It spans over nine nights and is dedicated to the worship of the goddess Durga and her various manifestations. In 2023, Navratri will commence on [start date] and culminate on [end date]. Let us delve deeper into the significance of Navratri, the rituals associated with it, and the ways to worship the divine Goddess Durga.


How is Navratri Celebrated? Worshipping Goddess Durga:

To worship Goddess Durga during Navratri, one must first purify their mind, body, and soul. Devotees often observe fasts and abstain from consuming non-vegetarian food, alcohol, and other impure substances. The primary focus is on maintaining a pious and disciplined lifestyle during this period.


1. Establishing the Kalash: A sacred pot, known as the Kalash, is placed symbolically to invite the goddess's presence. It is filled with holy water and adorned with fresh flowers and leaves.

2. Performing Aarti: Aarti, a ritual of waving a lamp in front of the deity, is an essential aspect of Navratri worship. It involves singing hymns and praising the goddess's divine attributes, accompanied by the rhythmic sounds of bells and drums.

3. Garba and Dandiya Raas: These vibrant and energetic folk dances are an integral part of Navratri celebrations. Devotees form circles and dance gracefully around an idol of the goddess, accompanied by rhythmic music. Dandiya Raas involves the use of decorated sticks, adding to the festive spirit.

4. Fasting and Prayers: Many devotees observe fasts during Navratri, consuming only certain foods like fruits, milk, and specific grains. This is done to cleanse the body and focus the mind on spiritual endeavors. Chanting prayers, reciting hymns, and reading religious scriptures are common practices during this period.


Date and Day- Navratri 2023

The Navratri 2023 which is the celebration of 9 Holy Days will commence from 15th October, 2023 and will conclude on 23rd October (Excluding Vijayadashmi).


Here is the complete list of Date and Day of Navratri 2023:


Pratipada Puja


15th October 2023

Dwitiya Puja


16th October 2023

Tritiya Puja


17th October 2023

Chaturthi puja


18th October 2023

Panchami Puja


19th October 2023

Shashthi Puja


20th October 2023

Saptami Puja


21th October 2023

Ashtami Puja


22nd October 2023

Navami Puja


23rd October 2023

Dashami Puja


24th October 2023




Importance of Dussehra or Navratri

Navratri literally translates to "nine nights" in Sanskrit, where "nava" means nine and "ratri" denotes night. It is believed that during these nine nights, the divine power of Goddess Durga manifests in various forms to bless her devotees and eradicate evil forces. Each night represents a different aspect of the goddess, starting with Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and concluding with Siddhidatri.


Navratri is a time of spiritual rejuvenation, introspection, and seeking the blessings of the divine mother. It symbolizes the victory of good over evil, light over darkness, and knowledge over ignorance. Devotees observe fasts, engage in prayer, perform rituals, and participate in cultural activities to celebrate this festival.


Navratri -9 Days Devi Name

Following are the 9 forms of Durga Mata being celebrated in the 9 days of Navratri:

  1. Day 1 – Shailaputri
  2. Day 2 – Brahmacharini
  3. Day 3 – Chandraghanta
  4. Day 4 – Kushmanda
  5. Day 5 – Skandamata
  6. Day 6 – Katyayani
  7. Day 7 – Kaalaratri
  8. Day 8 – Mahagauri
  9. Day 9 – Siddhidatri


Wishing you a Very Happy Navratri! May Maa Durga keep her blessings upon all of us!


Continue Reading on The India Saga.


Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From