Dark Mode

Padma Awards 2021:- Mary Kom, PV Sindhu, Kangana Ranaut & Karan Johar among 119 recipients


Padma Awards, some of the highest civilian honour in the country was held on Monday in New Delhi. The ceremony to honour the Padma awardees could not be held in 2020 and was delayed in 2021 owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. Padma Awards 2021 was awarded to 119 recipients.


The Government of India (GoI) on Sunday, announced that four separate ceremonies would be held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on October 8 and October 9 to honour recipients of the Padma awards. President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday conferred the Padma awards to people who contributed immensely in the field of Art, Literature, Medicine, Science, Sports, and Civil Service. The 2021 list comprises seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan, and 102 Padma Shri Awards, of which 29 awardees are women, 16 Posthumous awardees, and 1 transgender awardee.


Former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, former External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Ram Vilas Paswan were awarded the Padma Vibhushan (posthumously) for public affairs. Former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar was conferred with Padma Bhushan (posthumously) for public affairs. Popular Singer SP Balasubramaniam was also awarded Padma Vibhushan (posthumously). Former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi was awarded Padma Bhushan alongside Sumitra Mahajan for their immense contribution in the field of public affairs.  Shuttler PV Sindhu was conferred with Padma Bhushan in the category of sports and chairman of Mahindra Group, Anand Mahindra too received the prestigious Padma Bhushan for his contribution in trade and industry sector. 


Film producer and director Karan Johar was also awarded Padma Shri. Actress Kangana Ranaut was also conferred with the 4th highest civilian honour (Padma Shri). Television and film producer Ekta Kapoor was also conferred with Padma Shri. Popular playback singer Adnan Sami was also honored with Padma Shri. Rani Ramphal, captain of the Indian Women’s Hockey team was also awarded Padma Shri.


Other prominent names who have been honoured with the prestigious civilian awards include singer Suresh Wadkar Hindustani classical exponent Pandit Chhannulal Mishra, former head scientist at ICMR Dr Raman Gangakhedkar, Air Marshal Dr Padma Bandopadhyay among others. Tulasi Gowda, better known as the “Encyclopedia of Forest” was on Monday presented with the Padma Shri, India’s fourth-highest civilian honour, by President Ram Nath Kovind. Gowda, 72, received the award in the Rashtrapati Bhavan barefoot and received huge praise on social media for her simplicity. She walked barefoot in the historic Durbar Hall of Rashtrapati Bhavan, stopped briefly to greet Prime Minister Narendra Modi, before going to receive the award from the President.


Padma awards are of three types- Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri.  ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. 


For the whole list of awardees, click here.


Continue Reading on The India Saga.


Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From