Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials

Politics & Governance

BJP and allies win four Rajya Sabha seats in North East; Congress suspends MLAs

Rajya Sabha Polls

The grand old Congress party suspended an MLA for allegedly wasting his vote by writing ‘One’ instead of ‘1’ on the ballot paper during the voting for Rajya Sabha elections.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged four Rajya Sabha seats from the three North-Eastern states of Assam, Nagaland and Tripura. With this, the Congress’s representation in the Upper House has now become nil. The Rajya Sabha polls for the four seats from the three North-Eastern states were held Yesterday. Assam had two seats in the fray in which the BJP’s candidate-Pabitra Margherita won unopposed. The main fight was regarding the second seat in which the BJP was supporting ally UPPL’s candidate Rwngwra Narzary while Ripun Bora was the opposition candidate backed by The All India United Democratic Front.

Several reports also suggested that the Chief Minister of Assam, Himanta Biswa Sarma had persuaded some Congress MLAs to cross vote and eventually seven Congress MLAs cross voted and ensured victory of the ruling BJP.  Taking it to Twitter Sarma tweeted, “We won both the Rajya Sabha seats from Assam (one by the BJP and other by UPPL, our partner) by a huge margin of 11 and 9 votes respectively.”

The Congress party also took strict action against MLA and former minister Siddique Ahmed as he was allegedly said to have written ‘One’ instead of ‘1’ on the ballot paper. His action ruined the prospects of Congress’s Ripun Bora going to the Rajya Sabha. The grand old party stated that “Siddique has deliberately disobeyed the three-line whip by the party.”

Talking about Nagaland, S Phangnon Konyak, the president of the BJP Nagaland Mahila Morcha was elected unopposed to the Upper House while in Tripura, Manik Saha, the BJP president was elected to the Rajya Sabha in the lone seat.

Continue Reading on The India Saga.

Leave a Reply