Dark Mode

Karnataka CM Bommai’s seat confirmed, to contest from Shiggaon constituency

On Sunday, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai stated the list of candidates for the upcoming assembly polls would be announced by the party shortly, following the conclusion of the party’s chief election committee (CEC) meeting in New Delhi. Basavraj Bommai, speaking to media members, stated that the list for the upcoming Karnataka elections was discussed and there is a possibility of reconvening on Monday. 


The announcement of the candidate list is expected to take place today. Additionally, Bommai confirmed his candidacy for the Shiggaon constituency. The CEC meeting for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections, set to take place next month, was held at the national capital’s party headquarters on Sunday and was attended by senior BJP leaders.


The meeting was graced by the presence of several notable individuals, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP Chief JP Nadda, Union Minister Pralhad Joshi and Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai. A meeting was convened by Amit Shah on Saturday at the residence of BJP President Nadda in the national capital to deliberate and finalise the roster of candidates for the May 10 elections.


Nadda’s residence saw the presence of several leaders including Karnataka BJP President Nalinkumar Kateel, former Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa, Union Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, and others. During the 2018 Assembly elections, the BJP secured the most seats as a single party, winning 104 out of 224 seats. In comparison, the Congress won 80 seats and the JD(S) won 37 seats. The upcoming Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections for all 224 seats are scheduled for May 10th, with the vote counting taking place on May 13th.

Share this article on WhatsApp, LinkedIn and Twitter

Comment / Reply From