Defence & Security

Sanjay Mitra Appointed as New Defence Secretary

NEW DELHI : Road and Transport Secretary Sanjay Mitra will be the next Defence Secretary, it was announced on Wednesday.

Mitra, a 1982 batch IAS officer of West Bengal cadre, will succeed G. Mohan Kumar whose tenure ends May 24, said a government order. He will have a fixed two-year tenure as Defence Secretary.

Appointment of Sanjay Mitra, lAS (WB:1982), Secretary, Ministry of Road Transport & Highways as Officer on Special Duty in the Ministry of Defence. The officer will take over as Secretary, Ministry of Defence on completion of tenure of the present incumbent Shri G. Mohan Kumar on 24.05.17.

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply