Touring visiting India from these nations must have RTPCR


The central government has expanded its coronavirus disease (Covid-19)-related restrictions to encompass new nations, making a negative RTPCR test report essential for overseas travellers wanting to enter India. According to the Union ministry of health and family welfare, the restrictions were imposed due to concerns about new mutations of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus, particularly the ‘Mu’ and ‘C.1.2’ variants reported in recent days, as well as the rising number of “Variants of Concern (VOCs)” and “Variants of Interest (Vols)” in general around the world.

The health ministry has added seven more countries to the list of countries from which visitors must have a negative RTPCR test report in order to enter India.
These seven countries are:

  1. South Africa
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Botswana
  4. China
  5. Mauritius
  6. New Zealand
  7. Zimbabwe

Travelers from the United Kingdom (UK), the European Union (EU), and the Middle East are already required to have a negative RTPCR analysis in order to board flights to India. They must also take an RTPCR test when they arrive.

Union health secretary Rajesh Bhushan said in a statement, “Considering the reports of new mutations in SARS-CoV-2 and rising number of Variants of Concern (VoCs) and Variants of Interest (Vols) globally, the following countries have been added in the scope of part B of MoHFW’s Guidelines on International Arrival, in addition to existing Countries in “Part-B” i.e. United Kingdom, Europe, and the Middle East.”

“More countries including South Africa, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, and Zimbabwe. International travellers from all these countries would now need RTPCR negative reports to get on flights to India and RTPCR testing upon arrival here,” Bhushan added.
To boost their Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) efforts, the Union health secretary also asked chief secretaries of the individual states and Union territories to refer to the amended instructions on international travel.

Meanwhile, the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) has issued a separate order requiring travellers arriving from specified countries to show a negative RTPCR test report.
To enter Mumbai, international travellers from these countries will require a negative RTPCR report from Friday, September 3:

  1. UK
  2. Europe
  3. Middle East
  4. South Africa
  5. Brazil
  6. Bangladesh
  7. Botswana
  8. China
  9. Mauritius
  10. Zimbabwe

According to the BMC, passengers from other countries must provide their respective RTPCR negative findings conducted 72 hours ahead to the voyage when exiting the airport or boarding connecting flights from any of the above-mentioned countries. Travelers will also be forced to fill out self-declaration forms at the airport and will be subjected to a 14-day home quarantine.

Continue Reading on The India Saga

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply