Politics & Governance

2022 Assembly Election Updates: CEC of BJP meets underway to finalize candidates

Assembly ElectionPhoto Credit: The Indian Express

Assembly Live Updates: The BJP’s Central Election Committee is gathering to finalize candidates for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. Amit Shah, Anurag Thakur, Dharmendra Pradhan, and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath are among those in attendance. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda, and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh would all be present virtually at the meeting.

On Wednesday, the CEC, chaired by Congress President Sonia Gandhi, would meet to finalize candidates for the upcoming Punjab elections. Today in the national capital, the Congress Screening Committee for the Uttarakhand Assembly Elections will meet.

The BJP was startled again Wednesday when Dara Singh Chauhan, another UP cabinet minister, resigned and met SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, hinting that he, too, was headed there. Chauhan previously led the BJP’s OBC Morcha. He, like Maurya, has a BSP background.

The BJP is considering fielding Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who indicated earlier that he will run for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, from Ayodhya, as a result of a series of defections by current MLAs. The action is considered as a way to reinforce the Hindutva message and galvanise the cadre within the party. This is especially true now that the Ram temple building is well underway.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court-appointed Justice Indu Malhotra, a former judge, to lead a five-member committee to investigate the security breach during Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Punjab on January 5. The Supreme Court said the “blame game” and “war of words” between the Centre and the Punjab government may “impair the need for a robust mechanism to respond at such a critical juncture.”

On February 14, Punjab, Uttarakhand, and Goa will vote in a single round, while Manipur will vote in two phases on February 27 and March 3. From February 10 to March 7, Uttar Pradesh voters will elect 403 MLAs in seven stages. The results of the election will be announced on March 10.

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply