Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials

Politics & Governance

Samajwadi Party announced candidates for 14 of the 22 seats in Prayagraj region

Samajwadi PartyPhoto Credit: Hindustan Times

The Samajwadi Party (SP) has announced candidates for 14 of the 22 seats in the Prayagraj region, which includes the districts of Prayagraj, Pratapgarh, and Kaushambi, in the forthcoming Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. The Akhilesh Yadav-led SP has announced the names of eight candidates from various Prayagraj seats, as well as four Pratapgarh assembly seats and two Kaushambi district seats.

Samajwadi Party is scheduled to open its cards for other assembly constituencies in the three districts in the coming days, having fielded six candidates from backward castes in its list for the region. These three districts have a total of 22 seats, comprising 12 in Prayagraj, seven in Pratapgarh, and three in Kaushambi.

All 403 seats in the UP legislative assembly will be contested in seven stages from February 10 to March 7, with the fifth phase taking place on February 27 in the three districts of Prayagraj, Pratapgarh, and Kaushambi. Votes will be counted on March 10 and the results will be announced on the same day. 

Sandeep Yadav, a student leader and member of the Samajwadi Chatra Sabha (SCS), was handed a ticket from Allahabad North among the names announced by SP for the eight seats in Prayagraj. The party has also opted to run Sandeep Patel for the Meja seat, in an attempt to rope in votes from both Yadav and Patel voters.

“I am happy and honoured that my party has given me an opportunity and proved that the son of a modest Mali can also show his calibre. I am confident of winning because every common man is with me because I am one of them, not from any family of political legacy,” he said.

Similarly, MLA Hakim Lal Bind, who recently switched from the BSP to the SP, has been appointed as a candidate from his own Handia seat. SP has nominated Geeta Pasi as a contender for the reserved seat of Soraon. Mujtaba Siddiqui, a former BSP MLA from Pratappur who has switched allegiances to the SP, will be the party’s candidate in Phulpur.

Similarly, the SP has offered a ticket to Ujjwal Raman Singh, the current MLA from Karchana. Ujjwal Raman Singh, the son of prominent SP leader and Rajya Sabha MP Kunwar Rewati Raman Singh, enjoys fairly strong ground support fr5om his followers. He won this seat in the 2017 assembly election during a significant BJP wave in the district, with the BJP (and its Apna Dal allies) winning nine of the district’s 12 assembly seats and the SP winning only one. The remaining two were won by BSP.

“I don’t believe in propaganda and antics as practised by other parties. My family has always been with the voters of Karchana and wish that after winning I will fulfil the promises made to them,” said Ujjwal.

SP has fielded a candidate, Gulshan Yadav, who was previously in the camp of former UP minister Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, who now heads his Jansatta Dal (Loktantrik) party, for the first time after three elections from Kunda. Grijesh, too, would be an SP contender for the Babaganj seat.

SP has also backed Indrajeet Saroj, who is running for the Kaushambi seat in Manjhanpur. Saroj, a three-time MLA and two-time cabinet minister, is now the state general secretary of the SP, which lost the 2017 elections against BJP’s Lal Bahadur while running as a BSP candidate.

This time, the party has also fielded MLA Pooja Pal from the Kaushambi seat of Chail. Pooja Pal entered politics when her husband, then BSP’s sitting MLA from Allahabad West constituency Raju Pal, was murdered on January 25, 2005. She ran for her husband’s seat in 2005 by-polls but lost. She did, however, win the Allahabad West seat as a BSP candidate in the 2007 elections at the age of 27. Following that, she defeated Mafioso-turned-politician Atiq Ahmed in the 2012 elections to win her husband’s seat. However, she came in third place in the Allahabad West polls in 2017. She had recently switched to the SP.

Continue Reading on The India Saga

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply