Weekly Gadgets

Latest Posts

Find Us on Socials

Politics & Governance

UP Election: 63.44 percent voter turnout recorded in third phase polls

The average voter turnout in the first round (February 10) and the second round (February 14) of the 2022 UP Elections was 62.43 percent and 64.44 percent, respectively.

PM ModiPhoto Credit: India Today

According to election commission data, the third phase polls of the seven-phase state assembly election in Uttar Pradesh saw an average voter turnout of more than 63 percent in 59 constituencies distributed over 16 districts on Sunday. The average voter turnout in the first round (February 10) and the second round (February 14) of the 2022 UP polls was 62.43 percent and 64.44 percent, respectively. The average poll percentage in these 16 districts was 62.21 percent in the 2017 assembly elections.

While the third phase votes took place from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) worker was shot roughly 400 meters from a polling station in Mainpuri City’s Avadh Nagar neighborhood. The suspect was later apprehended and is thought to be a Samajwadi Party worker, according to the police (SP).

The BJP won 49 of the 59 seats in the 2017 elections, while the SP only got nine. Congress won one seat, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) failed to get a single vote. The struggle for the Karhal seat in Mainpuri, where Samajwadi Party chief and former chief minister Akhilesh Yadav made his assembly election debut, was the focus of Sunday’s phase. Apart from Karhal, the district’s four seats—Mainpuri, Bhongaon, and Kisni—recorded a 65.10 percent turnout, the highest in the district.

Mehroni in Lalitpur district had the highest voter turnout of 71 percent, followed by 68.20 percent in Babina (Jhansi) and 67.98 percent in Jalesar, among the 59 assembly constituencies that went to polls on Sunday. According to electoral commission data, Lalitpur had the greatest voter participation with 69.61 percent, followed by Etah and Mahoba with 65.70 percent and 64.56 percent voter turnout, respectively. Kanpur Nagar had the lowest poll percentage among the districts, at only 56.14 percent. Farrukhabad and Jalaun, with voter turnouts of 59.13 percent and 59.93 percent, respectively, were the districts with the second and third-lowest voter turnouts.

“The voting began at 7 a.m. and continued until 6 p.m., and according to information received from the districts concerned, the average voter turnout by 5 p.m. was 57.58 percent,” chief electoral officer Ajay Kumar Shukla had said earlier in the day, adding that the final turnout figures were bound to go up because voters who were already in line at 6 p.m. were allowed to vote. Later, the data was updated.

According to Shukla, a total of 52,043 eligible voters used postal ballots to vote. Hathras, Firozabad, Etah, Kasganj, Mainpuri, Farrukhabad, Kannauj, Etawah, Auraya, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Hamirpur, and Mahoba were among the 16 districts that went to polls in the third phase, which was the largest in terms of several districts.

“In the third phase, there were 2.16 crore voters, 99.9 lakh of whom were women, and 1060 of whom were transgender,” Shukla stated. He went on to say that out of the 627 contestants, 97 were women, 192 were SC, and one was ST.

He stated the commission ensured webcasting of 13,903 booths under the poll panel’s direct observation, claiming that the voting was done in a transparent, fair, and peaceful way. He also stated that 1342 booths were videotaped. He further stated that between the date of announcement and the end of campaigning, 12.69 crores in cash and 1.75 lakh liters of liquor were confiscated in 16 districts.

In the poll-bound areas, over 905 central paramilitary forces (CPMF) and state armed police companies, as well as over 117,000 civil police officers, home guards, Prantiya Rakshak Dal (PRD) jawans, and village guards, were deployed.

“The incident took place about 400 meters away from the polling station in Avadh Nagar area of Mainpuri city as polling was about to end,” said Rajeev Krishna, additional director general (ADG) of police, Agra Zone. The accused is a member of the Samajwadi Party who has been arrested.” “The injured BJP leader has been admitted to the hospital and is being closely monitored. At the same time, a police force has been dispatched in the vicinity,” he added.

Akhilesh Yadav, Dimple Yadav, Shivpal Singh Yadav, Ram Gopal Yadav, Congress leader Salman Khurshid, UP BJP President Swatantra Dev Singh, and UP minister Satish Mahana are among the significant political heavyweights that voted. Meanwhile, Kanpur mayor Pramila Pandey has been charged with trespassing when she took her phone into the polling booth at Hudson School and took a selfie, according to a senior official. The Kanpur Mayor had broken the electoral commission’s guidelines by publicising the name of the party she voted for, according to district magistrate Neha Sharma. The Mayor had broken the electoral commission’s guidelines by publicising the name of the party she voted for, according to district magistrate Neha Sharma.

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply