Politics & Governance

Yogi Adityanath elected from Gorakhpur, predicts a ‘thumping majority’ for BJP

Yogi AdityanathPhoto Credit: Hindustan Times

2022 Assembly Elections Live Updates: Yogi Adityanath, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, sent his best wishes to all BJP leaders whose names were released as the ruling party’s candidates for the first two phases of the state’s seven-phase assembly elections on Saturday.

“Many congratulations and best wishes to all those whose names were declared as candidates today. Development is the BJP’s only policy. ‘New India’s New Pradesh’ which has emerged under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi is in front of all of you. I have full confidence that people will continue the state’s journey towards development by once again blessing the BJP,” Adityanath posted on Twitter (roughly translated from Hindi).

He posted in another tweet, “The BJP is determined to work for the development of Uttar Pradesh, as well as welfare and upliftment of all sections of the society in the state. With people’s blessings, we will again form the government with another thumping majority.” 

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which won a record 312 seats in the 403-member UP legislative assembly in 2017, announced 105 (57+48) candidates for 113 seats (58+55) in the first two rounds of the next elections, which will be held on February 10 and 14, respectively.

The list featured 107 names in total; the chief minister and his deputy, Keshav Prasad Maurya, were the two additional candidates released. While the former will represent Gorakhpur Urban in his hometown of Gorakhpur, Maurya will represent Sirathu in Prayagraj. Their respective constituencies, on the other hand, are not slated to vote in either of the first two stages.

Yogi Adityanath resigned as a member of Parliament in March 2017 to become chief minister. He is currently a member of the Legislative Council of the United Party (MLC).

Meanwhile, voting for rounds 3–7 will take place on February 20, 23, 27, and March 3 and 7 in the country’s most populous states. The results of the election will be announced on March 10.

Continue Reading on The India Saga

By TIS Staffer
the authorBy TIS Staffer

Leave a Reply