Indian Squad for T20 world cup 2024 - The India Saga



Indian Squad for T20 world cup 2024

The United States of America is all set to host the biggest cricketing event of 2024, the T20 World Cup.…

Indian Squad for T20 world cup 2024

The United States of America is all set to host the biggest cricketing event of 2024, the T20 World Cup. This is the first time in cricket history that the USA will host a cricketing event. West Indies, alongside the USA, is the co-host for the event. Pakistan and New Zealand prepare by playing a bilateral t20 series, while players of the rest of the teams are involved in the IPL, the toughest t20 tournament. For the final team selection, ICC set 1 May as the last date for submission of teams.

The Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) will select the team after the Mumbai and Delhi encounter on 27 May. Chief selector Ajit Agarkar, head coach Rahul Dravid, and captain Rohit Sharma will meet in Delhi with the selection committee for the final squad. Currently, Ajit Agarkar is enjoying his holidays in Spain.

BCCI has to think deeply to select the main 15 players who will be part of the squad. The selection committee will also face some serious questions like,

  1. Who will open the innings with Rohit Sharma
  2. Who will be the first-choice wicketkeeper
  3. A combination of playing eleven
  4. Does India need any finger spinner for the contest
  5. Who will play the role of finisher
  6. Partner of Jasprit Bumrah in death overs
  7. Will Hardik Pandya play the role of the third seamer

The selection committee needs to find the answers to all these questions. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Mo. Siraj are the main contenders who will be on the USA flight without any doubt.

Opening Slot

Shubhman Gill and Yashashvi Jaiswal are potential contenders for the opening slot before the start of the IPL. But the SRH opener, Abhishek Sharma, raised his hand for the selection, showing his explosiveness and a good range of shots.

Middle Order

Along with Virat Kohli and Surya Kumar Yadav, who will transit the innings in the middle order, Shivam Dubey, Tilak Verma, Shreyas Iyer, and Venkatesh Iyer will apply for the slot.

Wicket Keeper

As Rishabh Pant is the final match fit now, the choice of wicketkeeper is also difficult for selectors because all the wicketkeeping options are hitting in their purple patch, whether it is dynamite Ishan Kishan, classy Sanju Samson, permanent KL Rahul or veteran Dinesh Kartik.


The captain and coach must decide who will finish the innings for them. Currently, Rinku Singh is the only option India has. However, the young hitters from Punjab Kings, Ashutosh Sharma and Shashank Singh, put up a great show in death overs. The team needs to find a wicketkeeper, allrounder, or proper batters for the role of finishers.


Ravindra Jadeja is the only allrounder whose selection has been confirmed. Apart from Jadeja, the selectors are concerned about Hardik Pandya’s IPL performance because he is the only fast-bowling all-rounder who can bowl four overs in a match. Shivam Dubey, Venkatesh Iyer, and debutant Nitish Reddy of SRH can also secure a spot in this position.


With the batting advantage, Ravi Jadeja has already secured his spot as a spinner. Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, and Yuzi Chahal will be in the playing 11 of the World Cup, and if necessary, they both can feature in the squad. Apart from them, Leggy Axar Patel and veteran off-spinner Ravi Ashwin will also be considered for the role of spinner.

Fast Bowlers

The trio of Bumrah, Siraj, and Arshdeep will be the main defenders of Team India in this tournament. Mo Shami’s rule out of the tournament due to a leg injury will open the gates for other seamers like Deepak Chahar, Mohit Sharma, T Natrajan, Shardul Thakur, and Mukesh Kumar.

Apart from all these names, there are many other youngsters who can perform well in the second leg of the Indian Premier League and be part of this squad.